Pearls and Maille

I gave this byzantine bracelet adorned with Swarovski crystals to my best friend of now 10 years. I’ve never had a friend longer than her. She’s graduating this May from Norte Dame law school and I gave this to her during the Christmas season as a Christmas present and early graduation present. Perfect, isn’t it? 🙂

The byzantine weave has become one of the easiest weaves that I can crank out in a matter of hours. It’s simple, elegant, and surprisingly intricate. Here I took extra care to string a strand of tiny freshwater pearls, 2mm sterling silver beads, and 4mm slightly golden-hued Swarovski crystals all throughout the bracelet. I have to make another one for myself soon because this one is just so perfect. Maybe I’ll do something different, perhaps some mauve colored pearls instead, but the original one is still so pretty… ❤

Leave a Reply

