Shadow Work Through Bellydance

Last week, I decided to grab my book about the shadow to read during lunch.  My mom commented that out of her 3 daughters, I read the most.  I merely said I’m just trying to figure out how to be the best person I can be.  I suppose that’s probably the best thing a mother can hear from her children. 😉

I learned about the shadow when I took a workshop with Asharah at Gothla.  Previously, I knew that Gothic Tribal Fusion Bellydance had become my outlet for discovering the “darker” side of myself, no pun intended.  Bellydance has become an integral part of me because I’ve not only made some wonderful friends, but it’s helped make me aware of my body and how the muscles learn how to take commands from the brain.  Eventually, after enough repetition, the muscles/body part you want to move in a non-everyday kind of movement (i.e. bellydance movement) kicks in like clockwork.  Believe me, it took 2 years to finally see some definition in my waist (read:  I have a DEFINED waist with a curve!), as well as kick the traditional bellydance moves out of my hips to gain the more grounded, earthy movements of Tribal Bellydance.  Sashi is right when she tells us “eventually, it will come.” 🙂

For me, bellydance is a psychic release.  All the worries of the present melt away and I find myself in the moment again.  I also realized some time last year that it’s also directly correlated with my creativity.  Without it, I find myself stagnant and not even remotely interested in making jewelry.  It is truly my happy place.  Which I find amusing because when I first started 5 years ago, I felt like a deer staring into the headlights of an on-coming car.  But now I’m very happy to call my troupe family and my home away from home. ♥

Leave a Reply

