Battle Between Spontaneity and Consistency

I think this is a left brain vs right brain thing.  Most of the time when I sit down at my desk, I have no idea what I’m going to make.  I throw caution to the wind and let my creative spirit soar and ride in the direction my subconscious thinks I should go.  This does not bode well for consistency, although most of my jewelry designs are at least somewhat similar.  Sometimes I wonder if this is a good thing or not, but sometimes you can’t force creativity.

I’ve been getting back to basics this week.  Making little bits of chainmaille and sticking beads in between those sections.  Yay!  I haven’t done that for awhile, so this feels pretty good.  I think the chain I’m working on will turn into a “chainmaille straight up” bracelet, i.e. classic chainmaille with no beads or embellishments.  Speaking of chainmaille straight up, I need to take inventory of all the bracelets I have in stock.  Yay art show!  Eh, some of them are my original bracelets, so I think their energy has been permanently embedded as MINE.  So I need to grab the ones that are easily replaceable.  I should probably make another turkish roundmaille.  My only concern is that I’m running out of rings in that size.  Maybe I have an ounce or two left, but after hoarding 5 ounces at a time, it makes me nervous with silver prices being as high as they are right now.  Not as high as last year, but enough to cringe.

Jesse and I are debating what to do tonight.  We may end up going up to Rowland Heights then wander around Pasadena.  Sounds like a good escape to me.  Chinese food and window shopping. 😀  If I have time for a haircut, I would like to squeeze one in.  My hair is growing like a weed but there are enough split ends to drive me crazy.  And spring is coming… I kinda want to go shorter anyway.  We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

