The Extroverted Introvert

I am an extroverted introvert.  Depending on my mood, I flip back and forth between ISTJ and ISTP (it’s the constant battle between my engineering logic and creative whimsy).  So yeah, I’m a walking, breathing contradiction.  For instance…

“ISTJs have tremendous respect for facts. They hold a tremendous store of facts within themselves, which they have gathered through their Sensing preference. They may have difficulty understanding a theory or idea which is different from their own perspective. However, if they are shown the importance or relevance of the idea to someone who they respect or care about, the idea becomes a fact, which the ISTJ will internalize and support. Once the ISTJ supports a cause or idea, he or she will stop at no lengths to ensure that they are doing their duty of giving support where support is needed.”

“ISTPs have an adventuresome spirit. They are attracted to motorcycles, airplanes, sky diving, surfing, etc. They thrive on action, and are usually fearless. ISTPs are fiercely independent, needing to have the space to make their own decisions about their next step. They do not believe in or follow rules and regulations, as this would prohibit their ability to “do their own thing”. Their sense of adventure and desire for constant action makes ISTPs prone to becoming bored rather quickly.”

So, some rules are meant to be followed and some meant to be broken.  Given the situation where I can, I will go out and do my own thing, assuming it’s legal and won’t jeopardize the status quo unless it’s really, really important for me to fight back. I really do feel mushed in between both these personality types, but at least I’m consistently “IST”.  Action-oriented, practical, logical, emotionally inept, etc.

 

Jesse and I were eating breakfast the other morning (cereal and fresh strawberries) and I mentioned something about being an introvert and he disagreed because I’m either going out or talking with people all the time (via telephone, IM, etc) when I’m home alone.  Yes, I go out but usually to meet with small groups of people.  Dance class is a perfect example.  There’s about 10 of us, give or take a few given weekend circumstances.  Other than that it’s usually 1 or 2 other people at a time.  Mostly 1 person I’m meeting up with.  As I’ve aged, matured, and all that, my tolerance for large crowds and a busy day has gotten very, very thin.  I need time to recover from all the chaos.  As for talking on the phone and IM, as soon as I’m distracted, I say my goodbyes and follow that distraction.  Usually it’s something shiny, either my tools or something to watch on Netflix.

And see?  It’s part of my personality type…

“ISTPs are often likeable and have more friends and social interaction than is normal for an Introvert. The ISTP genuinely enjoys the company of their friends, and needs their input in his or her physical world to maintain their understanding of their own place in the world. An ISTP’s feeling of success is dependent primarily upon their mastery of their physical world, but is also dependent upon the existence of strong, reliable, interpersonal relationships. Without these relationships, the ISTP is likely to avoid relationships, isolate him or herself, and feel very vulnerable to rejection and hurt.”

I haven’t done this as much as I’ve wanted to, but I love sitting in the front room, watching the afternoon sun bathe the room in a gorgeously warm light and slowly taper off into the darkness.  That’s definitely what I’m going to be doing next week as I recuperate from the art show.  I only have plans to go out on Wednesday to meet an old college friend for dinner.  Here’s a great article about introverts and how the world is run by extroverts.  

Again, I don’t like chaos and instability. 😉

“An ISTJ’s feeling of success depends upon being able to use their experience for the benefit of an institution, and also upon the level of structure and lack of chaos in their life, and in the health and welfare of their family or other social structure.”

Leave a Reply

