Morning Pages for Kids

As I dive deeper into the world of parenting, I’ve started to ask myself how I can get my kids to learn about their emotions and deal with them constructively.  Thank goodness I have an aresnal of friends who are moms themselves, as well as Sashi who is a child psychologist by day and world renowned Gothic Tribal Fusion Bellydancer by night. 😉  I never learned how to deal with my emotions, let alone acknowledge their existence.  Growing up in a household of engineers is fun, but not exactly well rounded.  Good reason to love the Big Bang Theory. 😉

The only thing I can muster for now is sitting down with Jesse.1 when she’s visiting and writing our Morning Pages together.  Here’s a description of Morning Pages stolen from Julia Cameron’s website:

“Morning Pages are three pages of longhand, stream of consciousness writing, done first thing in the morning. There is no wrong way to do Morning Pages– they are not high art. They are about anything and everything that crosses your mind– and they are for your eyes only. Occasionally colorful, more often than not Morning Pages are negative, fragmented, repetitive or bland. Good!  Worrying about your job, the laundry, the weird look your friend gave you – all that stuff distracts you from your creativity. It eddies through your subconsciousness and muddies your day. Get it on the page first thing in the morning and move on with your day with a freer spirit.”

Since she’s almost 8, I bet this would be a good challenge for her, but I would only make her write 1 page in some little notebook so it’s not overly daunting.  Even I can barely get through 3 pages myself.  But, to start, I think I’ll start giving her activities to help name her emotions and why she feels the way she does.  Then go from there.  If we ever manage to keep her for an extended visit (anything longer than a weekend), then I’d toss in the Morning Pages.  It’s a big scary world out there and she’s almost a tween.  Though my presence in her life is brief, a little help can go a long way if I find the right tools for her to use.  This Mama Bear job is exhausting, but hopefully it will be rewarding. /sigh

Leave a Reply

