Happy New Year

My boys are finally both sound asleep in their respective beds… baby with his arms up over his head because his swaddles are all dirty unless there’s another one hiding where I can’t find it.  Hubby sleeps on, in spite of the past 2 hours’ feeding and Hui.1’s resistance to fall asleep by himself.  Jesse.1 and my best friend’s daughter are finally sound asleep on the futon, chatty little girls enjoying their youth via sleepovers and secrets into the wee hours of the morning.  I think we all fell asleep by 1am and baby woke up at 5.

I’m awake, wondering when I’m going to catch my next break, among all the family chaos of the holidays, but I have to remind myself that it’s winding down and soon my life will be back to normal with one child and one husband.  The allure of running off to get a pedicure is tempting, but I need to feed my extra house guest and polish her mom’s jewelry as well as hopefully replenish her stock of earrings.  She’s 6′ tall and blonde… perfect for longer earrings I adore but unflattering to my short and stout neck on my 5′-4″ frame.  That may be my solace for today.  We’ll see.

I Googled how to be an introverted mom and came up with some good results.  I never thought about it before, but it’s a good lesson on how to deal with kids and teaching them the importance of quiet time.  Jesse’s right about going outside once the babies are old enough to run around.  There’s something magical about the outdoors with its lack of Internet and confinements.  Nothing like good ol’ fresh air. 😉  If we have another baby, required quiet time will be good when I need a nap when I’m pregnant and Hui.1 is running around as a toddler.  Totally not looking forward to that yet but it’s good to mentally prepare for it.  We’ve both been sick so we’ve had extra cuddle time and extra naps.  I need to crash as soon as I’m done typing this.

One of my main goals for 2013 is trying to figure out how to balance being a mom and being an artist.  Lately I’ve been feeling very lackluster with the holidays running rampant and not having enough recharge time to get into my creative groove.  Maybe I have to be less picky and figure out a new way to pencil in creative time.  I’m not sure what needs to be done, other than something.  Also, something in my subconscious is poking me to get my cardio and stretching thing back on, even if it’s just for 2 or 3 songs the way Sashi used to warm us up back in the later part of 2008.  That really kicked my ass into shape.  Endorphins will probably help with the creativity as well.  I know for a fact that my creative spirit is directly linked with my bellydancing and I haven’t been able to go to class enough, simply because of family gatherings two Sundays in a row.  Jesse.1 and I got to go this past Sunday, so that was nice.  But I need more exercise in general to compliment it.  My obliques are already toning so well that my flub is slowly but surely shrinking.  It’s really awesome to watch my abs transform after pregnancy.  I feel stronger than ever, but stiffer than ever too.  My upper back and shoulders need more stretching as well as my hips.  I swear my hips are trying to get back to their normal elasticity but they’ve become extra stiff and have been cracking a lot more.  Bleh.

Okay, back to bed, then make the girls have a 15 minute dance party before we make Great Great Grandma Rorabaugh’s fudge (I told Jesse.1 we’ll make her fudge then call her to tell her how awesome it is.  She agreed that old people like being called on the telephone).

Leave a Reply

