Tuesday Morning Rantings

As our smartphones and other tablet devices get more popular and easily accessible, the more I want to purposely “unplug” from the electronic world of the Internet. Despite the fact that I’m trying to sell tangible merchandise over the Internet and have to psychologically provoke customers into buying my jewelry, nothing ever beats that face-to-face connection. We’re human, we crave each other’s company. That’s why it annoys me when I’m with friends who are constantly playing with their phones when we’re out and about. I mean, we’re all guilty of it, and I do poke at my phone while I’m out with Jesse, but most of the time I make a sincere effort to be present in the moment and put it away during our meals.

Living in the moment is a universal challenge human beings have been facing for decades. This is not a new technological advance. Hui.1 has been forcing me to live day by day, instead of fretting about the summer activities and plans for Jesse.1, Hui.1’s birthday, Christmas, and New Years, or reminiscing over the days when all I did was work and make jewelry. That’s part of the reason why I believe the age old prompt of “describe yourself in 5 years” is full of crap. We don’t know where we’re going to be in 5 years. If you had given me a crystal ball to peek at who I am today and all the things I’ve done, I’d be laughing in disbelief. 5 years ago I was on the route of being a crazy old beaded engineer lady. The idea of getting married and having kids was a given, but I never pictured it one day at a time. So yeah, I would have laughed in that person’s face. People change over the course of 5 years. It’s that pesky thing called “growth”. πŸ˜‰

I’m still making jewelry and my skills have been sharpened and refined enough that I can truly call myself an artist. It takes a lot of time and dedication to be great at something. And making jewelry is one of those things for me. πŸ˜€ But I don’t remember the last bellydance festival I actually attended. It may have been Gothla 2010. I was too busy focusing on my relationship with Jesse for all those other extracurricular activities that eventually fell to the wayside. I still took classes with Sashi just because that’s what I had been doing since 2007. I made an effort to go to every Pasadena Bead and Design show starting in January of 2009. I haven’t missed a show since, simply because I made it a priority. It’s exactly like when I started yoga 2 weeks ago. Baby steps towards changing habits and realigning priorities.

An interesting observation made by Sashi and I, is that we’re NOT GOTH anymore. We’re too happy to be goth. It’s an evolution, I tell you! If you had told us the troupe would be moving in the direction of alternative tribal fusion bellydance, we also would have laughed in your face. Heck, I’ve finally caught up with the people around my age in terms of emotional intelligence. I admit I was about 10 years behind simply because I lived with Mom and Dad until I got married. Dealing with change has become a heck of a lot easier now that I’m used to it. It’s nice being happy and living a fulfilled life. I wouldn’t trade it for anything right now. πŸ™‚

I suppose I should go find breakfast soon…

Leave a Reply

