A Hui Weekend

It’s been a good weekend. I’ve been itching to make this necklace for a few years and finally got around to it. I’m almost finished with just a few more sections to go. It feels good to be chaining like this again. It soothes my soul when I need to zone out from the world. I had forgotten this feeling of zen and it’s been so nice to recapture those feelings. Actually, I started making this bracelet first, then finished it and moved onto the necklace. Yay for being inspired! The rings there there and I needed an escape. Yes, this is a smaller gauge than the necklace pictured above and in yellow gold instead of rose. I had never made the smaller version, so I felt compelled to do so. Yay for spontaneous design! It would be a lovely necklace as well. Hmm… šŸ˜‰

The weather has finally calmed down from the massive 2 week heat wave that blistered Southern California, so it’s easier to spend more time upstairs in the studio. Jesse has been under the weather and he said we need to get a TV soon. Eh, it would be good to fill up more of the loft, so I’m not objecting it. I feel the need to start moving furniture around once he’s feeling better, though. I love rearranging furniture. šŸ˜‰

It was a good weekend, one of the best I’ve had for a long time. I had a chance to go to a friend’s birthday party at a goth club, so it was fun dressing up in my goth gear. Hui.1 was totally phased when he saw me in my makeup at first, then giggled at me. I think he approved. It was really nice to get out on the town and the come home to my nice warm bed and husband. The rest of the weekend was spent at home, cleaning, making jewelry, and finishing up the final season of Merlin. It was such a sad season because the myth was coming to an end and you knew Arthur was going to die but you never want the main character to die. The last few moments he had with Merlin about being a sorcerer was so sweet. The scene with Merlin’s father telling him that his magic isn’t superficial and no one could ever take it away from him resonated with me a lot. I can’t find a YouTube clip of it, but the message is clear: Believe in yourself, no one can take away who you are, etc. For me, my life has been different, trying to balance all the duties and roles I need to perform, but I do it and succeed. I have more jewelry stuff to write about, but I’ll save it for another post. Here’s what I caught Hui.1 doing Friday night. He was so happy and quiet… no wonder!

 

Leave a Reply

