Organized Creativity

I have a new design process. After I’m finished being in my “Sheldon” mode, I take a step back and place the new piece on a jewelry bust. Then I analyze the way the piece sits and how the energy flows. Usually it’s a necklace or pendant because bracelets are pretty straightforward and easier to get along with. πŸ˜‰ I give it a good poking and tweak as needed. Sometimes I’m too tired because I’m working before the butt-crack-of-dawn and connected something in the wrong place. Or I need a smaller jump ring. You get the idea. This helps me finalize the piece faster so I don’t dwell on it and I can move on to the next piece.

I did that with the necklace pictured above. The center stone begged to be showcased amongst smaller stones so I came up with that. The final tweaking consisted of making the connecting rings to the chain smaller and with the top two beads dangling on top for a cleaner look. I’m very happy with how this turned out and hope to sit down to make more pendants like these. Embellished Rock on a Rope. And I’m slowly starting to realize that everything I make doesn’t necessarily need to have a chainmaille bit. While my foundation is rooted in chainmaille, sometimes the stones speak for themselves. πŸ˜‰

This is all new and exciting because I’m used to operating in my usual, haphazard, creative way. Slowly, I am organizing my creativity so I can make the most out of my output. Yay!

Leave a Reply

