The Tower of Hui Hui

Slowly organizing the loft.  Whoo hoo!  Keeping it neat when the baby likes to take everything out of its container is hard.  And don’t even get me started when I go into Sheldon mode… the house and myself are still recovering from the last big production.  The long pillows are a perfect fit.  They’re from an Indian textiles shop in Artesia.  Once I saw the window seat (which is hiding a ventilation pipe), I knew I had to get these long, skinny pillows.  I think I can fit another 3 pillows to go along the entire length of the wall.  The curtains are perfect with their velvety texture and regal feeling.  They’re also blackout curtains which is good for watching TV.  I’ve been catching up on the latest season of “Once Upon A Time” and it’s been really hard to watch downstairs with all the pretty natural light, even with the curtains.  Oh well, that’s the price to pay for pretty light and windows everywhere.

I come up here to escape, despite the fact that if people are talking on the second floor, all the sound travels up here.  I can even hear people from the first floor, but that may be my super duper sensitive hearing.  But it’s the best place in the middle of the night when everyone is asleep or when the baby is napping.  My futon is up there, which makes it the perfect napping spot.  Only the TV will reside up here, because I don’t need the buzzing distractions of computers and portable electronics bugging me while I’m trying to concentrate.  Unless Jesse and I manage to have more boys in the future, I don’t think I’ll be able to toss all the kids up here and turn the two smaller bedrooms into a guest room and studio.

So far I like it a bit empty, with lots of open floor space.  That will eventually change, but for now, it’s nice and minimalist.  I’m trying really hard to keep the clutter at a minimum, even if it means using some of Jesse.1’s closet for jewelry display storage.  As a courtesy, I asked her if it was okay if I did.  She said it was.  Whew.

A friend mentioned I should test the window screens to see how much force it takes to pop them out.  Don’t need curious toddlers falling out the window…

Leave a Reply

