Early to Bed and Early to Rise

I woke up a little after 4am today and couldn’t go back to sleep.  I know I’m going to regret it later, but I’m more productive in the morning when there’s no one to bother me with their needs and I can get stuff done.  This particular blog post by Penelope Trunk has been sitting in the back of my mind for a month or two.  Today I wrote a more detailed to-do list, rather than the vague notion of “make jewelry” or “finish bracelet”.  My list looks like this:

  1. Chain and ring 5 beads
  2. Watch 1 free video
  3. When Hui.1 goes to bed, turn off computer, and get ready for bed.

I also made a list of stuff I need to buy from the store, but I won’t bore you with that.  Basically I’m trying to maximize my productivity, which means going to bed early and getting up early.  Jesse will be happy with that change because he likes getting somewhere between 8 and 9 hours of sleep.  After I had Hui.1, I would be wide awake after 7 hours of sleep and he’d ask why I’m so perky in the morning.  So yeah, that’s my plan until the holidays show up and try to ruin it.  But I need to enforce a good bedtime for Jesse.1 while she’s here for her post-Christmas visit so I’m going to do whatever I can to keep us all rested, happy, and productive.

And off to collect the trash for trash day tomorrow before this stamina wears off…

Leave a Reply

