How to Be Chic

The quickest and simplest way to being chic is to wear tri-colored metals.  Silver, yellow gold, and rose gold.  It’s timeless and goes with absolutely every outfit you own.  All the big jewelry houses are doing it… Cartier, Tiffany’s, Van Cleef & Arpels, etc.  Rose gold adds a unique touch of 1920’s Victorian romance to the traditional landscape of white and yellow gold.  According to Wikipedia, rose gold was popular in 19th Century Russia and called “Russian Gold” for a short period of time.

I discovered rose gold when I was visiting Hawaii for the first time and my dad made it a tradition to buy me a piece of jewelry from Na Hoku each trip we made to the islands.  I fell in love with the islands and spirit of Aloha so much that my wedding rings were also from Na Hoku and in rose gold.  Eventually, I was able to get my hands on a very limited amount of 14kt rose gold filled jewelry supplies, as well as chainmaille supplies.  My heart was singing as much as it was earlier while I was putting together those earrings this morning.  There’s something magical about rose gold, which is why I’ve wholeheartedly embraced it in my jewelry designs.  My hope is that this is what makes me stand out as an artist as well as solidifying my branding… Hui Hui Designs = chic or something to that extent.

I sold another pair of tri-colored barrel earrings and the matching necklace is being saved for.  I feel quite accomplished this week.  Again, I seriously need to stockpile this set like no tomorrow.

One thought on “How to Be Chic

  1. I love it too. My wedding ring is rose gold and rubies. It matches the rose gold wristwatch with rubies that my dad gave my mom in the early 1950s.

Leave a Reply

