A Cozy Place Called “Home”

There’s something magical about my studio. With the addition of the TV, Jesse and I have been bonding over watching the Big Bang Theory consecutively from Season 1. It’s been fun and Hui.1 enjoys the theme song very much. Hui.1 learned to crawl forward in this room, a week before we got the keys to move in. And just last week, he decided to start walking up here as well. I always knew my studio area would be magical and kid-friendly, but I never dreamed it would be like this. It’s quite a mecca of cozy and how home should feel like. Hui.1 also loves to get his hands on everything he could possibly get, so I need to spend more time tidying and finish unpacking.

Pictured above is my new easy chair. My mom said it’s very me, unless she meant the Snoopy rag quilt I love to huddle under. I expect to spend a lot of time in this chair in the coming months. Jesse has dubbed this room as the Hui Hui Nest. Yup, Hui.2 is on the way, making his debut sometime in the early throes of summer. And yes, another boy.  Fear not, I’ve been keeping myself busy with perfecting my website so I can get my online portfolio up and running. Part of my nesting process means getting that streamlined as well as stocking the new collection that will soon be released. I’m really excited for the debut. It’s one of the super duper epic projects Allison has been trying to crank out of me for the past couple months. This past Saturday was our model photoshoot and now it’s just waiting for the proofs and photo edits.

Maybe I am biting off more than I can chew between the jewelry business and family. But the jewelry business allows me to be at home with my kids, which is the most important thing. Also, being a bored housewife is not what I envisioned for my life at all. As usual, the hardest part about life is finding that perfect work-life balance. Once I get the process streamlined between the website, production, and photos, it’ll be a well enough oiled machine that I won’t have to worry so much about. That’ll take longer than the 5 months I have left, but it’ll be a good start.

Leave a Reply

