Go Outside and Turn Off Your Phone

Sometimes when life decides to calm down, I have the opportunity to sit outside amongst my husband’s edible garden to sip my tea and catch up on Vogue and Bazaar.  Hui.1 enjoys being outside as well, carefully trekking over to my stone bench to help me turn pages and pat me on the knee before he attempts to cross over more stepping stones or attack the mint plant growing by the sliding door.  Moments like these are fleeting, yet forces us to be mindful and appreciate what’s in front of us before it’s gone.

So far, Bazaar is saying that statement necklaces are the way to go this season.  That’s great considering my new found love for larger statement necklaces anyway.  Check out this lovely spring necklace from the Stepping Stones Collection.  This pregnancy has had me craving mostly agates as opposed to tourmalines with Hui.1.  Curious, but I’m going with it full speed ahead.  I can’t wait to get more pieces to Allison for photographs in the coming weeks.

Under the blanket of nature’s calm, it’s easier for my creative juices to rest and let my subconscious do some of the heavy lifting.  Being on high alert is not the way to live but it’s difficult when we’re so highly connected with all of our beeping and buzzing electronics.  I’ve made a conscious effort to unplug for a few hours a day and have also changed the settings on my iPhone to be less nerve wrecking (less beeps and notifications).  One thing I really need to do is utilize the “Do Not Disturb” function on my iPhone, since I occasionally use it as a music player when I’m trying to get the creative juices flowing.  But with the weather starting to bring forth the birds and butterflies into the garden, I’m just going to spend more time outside, absorbing some Vitamin D while watching Hui.1 dig in the dirt.

Leave a Reply

