Entrepreneurship is Never Boring

I’ve been holed up in my studio working with my Grace beads.  First of all, I started designing my Fall/Winter Collection so I could get reacquainted with my Swarovski crystal.  Shifting mental gears isn’t always an easy process and a lot of the stuff I started making was looking like the Stepping Stones Collection.  Oops.  And I’m still in the midst of making knot bits to add to the Chinese Knot Collection.  It’s a never ending story, but so goes the evolution of jewelry design and being an entrepreneur (I swear, I’m never going to properly spell “entrepreneur” without my spell check.  The “e-u-r” at the end always gets me!).

I’ve also been working on taking better photos with my iPhone.  As technology keeps improving (thank you, Moore’s Law), point-and-shoot digital cameras are quickly eating the dust when it comes to camera phones.  Sad to say, but unless you have a SLR, phones rule.  The top photo was taken with my iPhone, natural lighting, and my workbench lamp.  Not bad, I have to admit.  (Side note:  My electronics professor in college was the one who developed one of the first camera phone chips at JPL.  She was an awesome professor.)  The entrepreneur wears many hats and sometimes you DO have to do everything yourself.  Self-promotion will always be the hardest, but learning a few tricks here and there along the way undoubtedly helps.

So there you have it.  I’m working on releasing a few pieces of Grace for the summer and also developing my Fall/Winter collection in an attempt to stay 6 months ahead of the game.  Yeah, then add the arrival of a newborn into that mix.  Yes, I am crazy, but I love it.  And with that, back to the studio I go!

 

Leave a Reply

