Supplier Spotlight: Grace Beads

Click the photo to shop!

I’ve said this time and time again, but I adore Grace of Grace Beads.  I use her beads exclusively because I haven’t found a glass bead artist that even comes close to her.  Whenever I see her at the Pasadena Bead and Design Show twice a year, it’s like meeting an old girlfriend as we squee and jump up and down excitedly in between the aisles of bead and jewelry vendors.  I wanted to go to the show in 2008 but I was bogged down with work over the weekend so I couldn’t go.  Instead, I perused through their website to see what vendors had websites I could potentially order from.  Immediately I fell in love with Grace’s beads and it was all downhill from there.  It wasn’t until 2009 when I finally made it to the show to meet her in person.

Using her beads is not an easy feat.  My best necklace to date incorporating her beads is the necklace I was making when Jesse called me for the very first time.  There’s something magical about all of it; the design, the intent, the beads, and finished piece.  Something that still stands out today, which makes it a true Hui Hui Designs piece.  Whenever I get stumped about what to design with her other beads, I take it out to use as a guide.  And if I didn’t already love it enough, it was one of my very first necklaces completely in 14kt Rose Gold Filled.  Back in those days, it was hard to find rings and wire in rose gold, so I bought and used whatever I could get my hands on.  Today, it’s a little bit easier due to the comeback of rose gold in mainstream jewelry.

Leave a Reply

