Blocking Out a Schedule

Hui.2 at 4 days old

Welcome Hui.2!

Well, it’s been a week since Hui.2 decided to grace us with his presence and it’s been a small adventure, compared to Hui.1’s arrival.  But, we are all doing well and slowly adjusting to life with a newborn and a toddler.  I have to remind myself to take it easy and rest instead of rushing every which way to work on all the new jewelry designs that have been running amok in my head.  One of the nice things that babies bring is new perspective and constant change.  I need to figure out a schedule that works for everyone… more of that work-life balance everyone is talking about.  Here are some things that need to be blocked out:

Alone Time:

I need time to decompress from the world and sit in my head for awhile, even if it means staring at the walls doing nothing.  I did that this morning by going out into the garden to trim my nails (who honestly wants to vacuum nail clippings?) and soak up a little bit of vitamin D.  Alone time is very important for me and I need to figure out how to block that out whenever I can.  Jesse is actually very good at knowing when he needs to kick me out of the house or take the kids out so I can get some peace and quiet.  Starting kundalini yoga and meditation again falls under this category as well.  I’ve also figured out that I need to put Hui.2 down for a nap before I put Hui.1 down.  Then I’ll actually get some peace and quiet.

Unplugged Family Time:

Let’s face it; we live in a society who would rather stare at their phones to interact with the world instead of actually engaging with people face-to-face.  What that said, I want to be sure that when we’re all together, we’re all present and not glued to the electronics.  Jesse and I are good about not taking out our phones while we’re out for dinner unless it’s to check in on Yelp, but I do not want to spread the technology plague to the kids.  Hui.1 already comes running at me with my phone when I put it down somewhere within his reach.  It’s cute, but it also says he knows how important the phone is to me.  I’m not sure if I like that or not, but since I don’t have a landline, I need to keep the phone within reach 90% of the day.

Business Time:

It partly goes with the alone time, but the alone time gives me a chance to rest my brain and let the ideas cultivate before I start production or even tinkering.  But there’s more to business than just design and production.  There’s writing blog posts, adding listings on Etsy, making sure the website is up and running smoothly, posting on social media, etc.  I’ll start with one goal I want to accomplish for the day so that intention is imprinted into my subconscious with the hope of actually getting it done.  Eventually, once Hui.2’s schedule is less chaotic (yes, I’m being optimistic), I’ll up that to three goals a day, even if it’s something small like wiping down all the mirrors in the house.  Breaking up big projects into little pieces is the best way to get things done.

Hubby Time:

Since we’re limited on babysitters, this includes playing Dominion, watching TV together, and who knows what else.  It’s been nice having him home for the past week and we’ve been experimenting in the kitchen again, yesterday making my mom’s crepes for breakfast with a fruit syrup and then roasting a goose for dinner.  We’re almost finished with Season 6 of the Big Bang Theory.  He got bored of watching Star Trek: Voyager, but Season 7 of Big Bang will be released by the end of the summer.  We can spend that time playing Dominion since we have the base set and 4 expansions.

Holiday goose in July

Of course, this will vary depending on how the kids and I deal with our daily lives, but I’m confident to make this work.  I just need to remember to be patient with everyone, but most importantly, myself.  I can’t do everything at once, but I can be present and make every effort to get a few goals accomplished, even if that means getting 15 minutes of peace and quiet during this newborn stage.

Leave a Reply

